New Year’s Resolution 2017

Hey there! The new year has finally started and I hope you had an awesome start into 2017!

New year, new luck! … as I like to say. Normally, to have new luck, you are thinking about the past year(s) and try to think of new and better ways to survive the upcoming one. And what is a good way to do so? Exactly, New Year’s Resolutions!

Although I did not post resolutions for 2016, I really want to start doing so. I love cosplaying and sewing, so why not make a list only for cosplay-related resolutions?

The first things I want to mention do seem to be not related to cosplay at all. But they are, more or less, because it affects my time for working on costumes.

So 2017 is THE year! I will graduate from university in summer and I still need to write my bachelor thesis, so I obviously cannot work on costumes as much as I want. Too bad… But I really need to get this done properly. After graduating I want to find a good job and save up some money for a few things, including a new and better sewing machine and a nice camera. And I hope I can somehow accomplish that.

Shana, Shakugan no Shana, 2012 – Photo (c) “Asasparkle Cosplay” (Facebook)

I also want to start going to the fitness center, at least once a week, to get in shape. Yes, this is a very crucial resolution! If I want to shoot a lot of things and especially wear Ladybug in spring or summer this year, I need to be ready. And I want to do that. For that purpose I even created the hashtag #roadtomiraculous, to motivate myself!

And now… moving on to directly cosplay – related resolutions.

The first thing in 2017 I want to accomplish is getting my Hikari Yagami Tri School Uniform ready until march! We have a huge shooting coming up and in april the first three Tri-Movies will be released in German cinemas! Some friends and I want to watch it – of course while wearing our costumes, so it definately needs to be done!

I also planned a few shoots over the years I wanted to do someday… and I decided to get most of them done this year. I will write a blogpost about everything planned soon, so stay tuned for that if it is something that interests you!
I know this seems like a rather boring resolution, but it is something I really want to get accomplished. And since there are so many photoshoots I want to do throughout the year I thought it would be a great resolution.

Over the last years I bought a lot of fabric for cosplays and also started working on a few. I want to work on them this year and start a few of the ones I haven’t started yet – at least if there is enough time to do so. To name a few: Elsa Icegown, Sophie from Tales of Graces f, Jeanne from Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne. I’m pretty sure I won’t get each and every one of them done this year, but I want to at least work on it and move on.

I finished and wore a few costumes I really like and I put a lot of work, effort and love into them, but the pictures I have are either not that great or not existent at all. And in order to get some new costumes done, I need to sell a few of them… but on the other hand I don’t want to sell costumes I don’t have good pictures of. So I want to fix those costumes, shoot them and sell them. This may seem awkward, but I think this is the best I can do for now. I worked too hard on them to just throw them away, but I don’t want to sell incomplete costumes, so this is the best opportunity to get new pictures of them and give them to a new owner (and create more room for new costumes).

And last but not least I want to plan a few cosplays I want to tackle in 2018 and search for fabric on a local fabric market. I guess I won’t plan that much, but there are already two costumes I want to work on in late 2017 and 2018… and I’m pretty sure there will be more as the year moves forward.

jelsa-sig

Jack Frost (King Frost) – Rise of the Guardians by “Sorasparkle Cosplay” (Facebook); Elsa (Ballgown) – Frozen by “Nikasparkle Cosplay”; Picture (c) Jurai Spring 2015

There will be a blogpost about my cosplay- and shooting-plans for 2017 as well. I will link it here as soon as it goes live!
If you’re interested in that, stay tuned!

Do you have any cosplay – related New Year’s Resolutions for 2017? If yes, please feel free to tell them in the comment section! I would love to know your resolutions!

See you next time.
As always, thank you for reading!

Until then: Stay sparkly!❤
Nikasparkle

Leave a Reply

