Tharja, Making Of – Part 1: Pants and Belt

Hello and welcome to the start of a new Making Of!

This time I talk about Tharja from Fire Emblem Awakening! The game is so gorgeous and addictive, as well as the following one Fire Emblem Fates! Tharja is a cosplay I finished by now. (Or nearly. I’m still missing the book.)

So if you don’t know what Tharja looks like, here is a picture for you:

A few people might know that I’m really liking dark mages and just any kind of dark people.
So it might or might not have been obvious that I would choose her.

After I decided to work on her costume, I went to a fabric market to get my first fabrics.
I was really lucky there because I got everything I needed! Including a golden fabric. In Germany it is really rare to get real spandex and guess what? I just found the perfect amount for a little money for that.

1

I also got nearly perfect embroidery floss! I was really happy about that. So as soon as I had time I started with her pants she wears under her belt.

23

As always I started with making my own pattern for her pants. It somehow worked out really well. I had some fitting issues but putting in some more stripes of fabric at the sides made it work. It wouldn’t be seen anyway since the belt would completely overlay the pants at that point.

I added the golden part to the center of the pants. I knew those would most likely not be seen, but I wanted to have them. I don’t know why.

45

After the pants had it’s shimmer I added lining, started the belt and the piece of fabric she has in front of her hanging off of the belt. The lining has the same blue color as the outside of the pants and the middle-fabric has a red lining sewed to it. The cape has red lining, but since the figure has red lining at the middle part as well I used it here, too.
I don’t know why, but I don’t have any progress pictures of the process.
Either way, this is how it looked like:

12

So after that the only thing missing was the little armoured part. A big thank you to my ex boyfriend, he helped me with that a lot. I don’t think I would have done it the way it is now without him.
So to start this thing of we decided to use foam rubber, stack that up, glue everything together and cover it in fabric.

67

We had enough foam rubber, so he did a mock up first. And it looked pretty neat.
Once I gave him the “ok” he wanted to hear, he starting working on the final piece.
We glued everything in place (including fightinh the material) and a short time after it really looked like the armour she wears attached to her belt. At least if you can call that armour.

89

After the glue had plenty of time to dry up I started covering it with the spandex fabric.
I love this fabric so much, it is amazing. I don’t know how it would look like if it wasn’t very elastic fabric.
Probably not as good as it does now:

1011

So these are the parts of her belt and pants. I added snaps to the belt and her pants, to keep everything in place, used a few hooks for the belt to stay where it needs to do so underneath the armour and thanks to the fabric I covered the armour with I could easly sew that onto the middle part of the belt – and both onto the belt itself.
In the end it looked like this:

13

And I’m really happy with the end result. And I knew it would look even better when wearing the body.
What do you think about it? 🙂

Thank you so much for reading.
Until then: Stay sparkly!❤
Nikasparkle

Leave a Reply

