Elsa, Making of – Part 2: The Shoes

So after a lot of time… here’s the next tutorial!
This time I’m going to tell you a bit about how I made my shoes of my “normal” Elsa costume (the icegown)…
I don’t have a lot of pictures of the process, so please bear with me!
And since I finished them about one year ago I can’t remember everything… oops.

If you haven’t read part 1 about the wig yet, feel free to do so by clicking here.

So I started with buying some shoes on ebay for like… 2€ or so? The shipping payment was actually higher than the costs of the actual shoes, lol. I thought about which kind of shoe would be best for my ideas… and I decided to go with those because I could easily cut off those strips. At least that’s what I thought. I also made sure that their heel-shape would fit the shape they have in the movie… Which didn’t turn out too well, but I guess I had no choice but to work with them. In the end I think they look okay, so I don’t care about that too much anymore.

shoes icegown 1

After they arrived I had some new ideas… and I tried out some materials. I used some soft plastic (or whatever it is called in english – it’s soft so it doesn’t hurt too much, but hard enough to stay in shape on it’s own) and worked with different colors. In the end I decided to use “Window Color” and paint that onto the plastic with a brush.

2

So I glued that plastic on. You can see that it doesn’t really look nice this way, but don’t worry, I had something in mind for that. I had a lot of Worbla still at home and wanted to use it to cover the front and the back/heels to add some more depths. I put some color onto that (aquarell, I think) and started glueing different shades of blue glitter onto the worbla.

3

That actually was a lot of work and took it’s time (due to drying-processes after each layer). In total I glued about 6 layers of blue glitter onto in (with a glitter-glue). I started with the darkest blue – working my way to the lightest and adding again the one shade of blue that would fit the most. And guess what? I really liked it! .. And still do.
After that I used my blue glittering pen for the edges to give them some depth as well and added a few dots and designs for a snowflaky-look.

4

That really took some time and nerves and my room was a mess… but well, at least I really like them!

shoes icegown 5

So these are the finished shoes! Later on I added transparent bra-strips, which I cut and glued onto the inner side of the shoes. I added a little closure on the other (inner) side so I can easily go while wearing these – I had the issue of slipping out of them (like Cinderella) when walking… They still hurt a little while walking, but all in all I really like them! Even if they are not exactly like the original… I really love them more this way 🙂

So that’s it about the shoes. Thank you for reading!
More is hopefully coming soon, although I’ll finish the tutorials for Tharja and Elsa’s Ballgown first (because those costumes are done by now).

Leave a Reply

